Roster Flow vs Tanda for a small Australian team
Rostering and timesheets on their own, against workforce management bundled with HR and payroll. What each company’s public pages say, checked on the same day.
Checked 2 October 2026 against each company’s public pagesWho each may suit
Not a winner. Which kind of business each option tends to fit, from what the public pages say.
- Small teams that already run payroll in Xero and want the roster and timesheets to feed it
- Teams that want a published price by team size and a free plan
- Businesses that want HR, payroll and workforce management from one company
- Teams that want rosters informed by sales data, as Tanda describes
How the price is worked out
The public pricing model, and what counts toward it.
| Roster Flow | Tanda | |
|---|---|---|
| How the price is set | By the number of active people: bands up to 250 staff, and agreed with us above that | Per user per month for the bundle; module prices on request |
| Lowest paid price | $29 a month for up to 10 staff | $12.80 plus GST per user per month for HR, payroll and workforce management together |
| Free plan | Free for up to 5 staff | Not stated on the pages checked |
| Free trial | 28 days on a paid plan, with no card to start | Not stated on the pages checked |
| Minimum spend or seats | No minimum; teams over 250 contact us for pricing | Not stated on the pages checked |
| Currency and tax | Australian dollars, GST included | Australian dollars, plus GST |
The same week, step by step
One ordinary week, from building the roster to handing the hours to payroll.
| Roster Flow | Tanda | |
|---|---|---|
| Build next week | Copy last week, adjust it, and watch the estimated cost as shifts go on | Rosters informed by sales data, as the page describes |
| Tell the team | Publish, and everybody rostered is told on their phone | Not stated on the pages checked |
| Record the hours worked | Staff clock in and out on their phone; differences from the roster are flagged | Not stated on the pages checked |
| Approve the week | Clear the flagged rows and approve the week | Automated timesheet calculations |
| Hand the hours to payroll | Send approved hours to Xero as draft timesheets, or export a CSV | Payroll within the same bundle |
Features, from the public pages
“Not stated on the pages checked” means the page did not say. It does not mean the product lacks it.
| Roster Flow | Tanda | |
|---|---|---|
| Building and publishing rosters | Yes: copy last week, see the estimated cost, publish to staff phones | Workforce management, including roster efficiency with sales data |
| Clocking in and out | From the employee’s own phone in the browser, with an optional photo and distance check | Not stated on the pages checked |
| Shift swaps | Yes, agreed between staff and approved by a manager | Not stated on the pages checked |
| Award interpretation | No. The business enters its own rates and multipliers | Not stated on the pages checked |
| Running payroll | No. Pay runs, payslips and superannuation stay in the payroll system | Payroll is a module, and part of the bundle |
| Payroll connections | Xero, with MYOB coming soon, and a CSV export for anything else | Not stated on the pages checked |
| Prices published | Yes | The bundle price is published; module prices are on request |
Limits and notes
- It does not interpret awards or work out what anybody is paid
- It does not run pay runs, payslips, superannuation or Single Touch Payroll reporting
- It connects to Xero only, with MYOB coming soon; other payroll systems take a CSV
- There is no app to install: staff use the browser on their phone
- It does not build rosters automatically or forecast staffing from sales
- There is no single sign-on
- HR features listed include onboarding, contracts and documents, and qualifications and licences
Method and update log
Every statement about Tanda comes from the pages below, read on 2 October 2026. Roster Flow’s prices come from its own plan list, the same one the pricing page reads. Nothing is taken from review sites, forums or memory, and prices change, so check the source before deciding.
- Tanda: pricing, read 2 October 2026
- Roster Flow pricing, from the product’s plan list
Still to do on this page:
- Every price, plan and feature against Tanda’s public pages on the day of release
- That the use of the Tanda name is descriptive, and cleared in the trademark review
- That the “may suit” lists stay neutral and are supported by the sources
Questions
How much does Tanda cost compared with Roster Flow?
Tanda publishes $12.80 plus GST per user per month for HR, payroll and workforce management together, priced per user per month for the bundle; module prices on request. Roster Flow is $29 a month for up to 10 staff, priced by band rather than per person, so the bill does not move when a busy month adds casuals.
Does Tanda have a free plan?
Tanda does not state a free plan on the pages checked. Roster Flow has free for up to 5 staff, permanently, which is a plan rather than a trial.
Does Tanda work out award rates?
The pages checked do not say whether Tanda interprets awards, so treat that as a question to ask rather than a yes. Roster Flow does not: the business enters its own rates, and pay calculation stays in payroll.
Where do the facts about Tanda on this page come from?
From Tanda's own public pages, read on 2 October 2026 and listed at the bottom of this page. Nothing here comes from a review site, a forum or a sales call, and where a page did not say, this one says so rather than guessing.