Roster Flow vs Connecteam for staff scheduling
Two ways to schedule staff and record their hours, one priced in Australian dollars by team size and one in US dollars by users. What each company’s public pages say, checked on the same day.
Checked 2 October 2026 against each company’s public pagesWho each may suit
Not a winner. Which kind of business each option tends to fit, from what the public pages say.
- Australian businesses that want prices in Australian dollars with GST included
- Teams that hand approved hours to Xero
- Teams that want geofenced clock in across several sites, which Connecteam lists from Advanced
- Teams of up to 10 users on its free Small Business plan
How the price is worked out
The public pricing model, and what counts toward it.
| Roster Flow | Connecteam | |
|---|---|---|
| How the price is set | By the number of active people: bands up to 250 staff, and agreed with us above that | A monthly price for the first 30 users, plus a price per additional user |
| Lowest paid price | $29 a month for up to 10 staff | $29 USD a month for the first 30 users on Basic, plus $0.8 per additional user |
| Free plan | Free for up to 5 staff | Free for up to 10 users on the Small Business plan |
| Free trial | 28 days on a paid plan, with no card to start | 14 days, no credit card needed |
| Minimum spend or seats | No minimum; teams over 250 contact us for pricing | Not stated on the pages checked |
| Currency and tax | Australian dollars, GST included | US dollars; paying yearly saves 18% |
The same week, step by step
One ordinary week, from building the roster to handing the hours to payroll.
| Roster Flow | Connecteam | |
|---|---|---|
| Build next week | Copy last week, adjust it, and watch the estimated cost as shifts go on | Scheduling, with templates from Advanced and auto-assign on Expert |
| Tell the team | Publish, and everybody rostered is told on their phone | Not stated on the pages checked |
| Record the hours worked | Staff clock in and out on their phone; differences from the roster are flagged | Real-time clock in and out with GPS |
| Approve the week | Clear the flagged rows and approve the week | Not stated on the pages checked |
| Hand the hours to payroll | Send approved hours to Xero as draft timesheets, or export a CSV | Not stated on the pages checked |
Features, from the public pages
“Not stated on the pages checked” means the page did not say. It does not mean the product lacks it.
| Roster Flow | Connecteam | |
|---|---|---|
| Building and publishing rosters | Yes: copy last week, see the estimated cost, publish to staff phones | Scheduling, with open shifts on Basic and repeating shifts and templates from Advanced |
| Clocking in and out | From the employee’s own phone in the browser, with an optional photo and distance check | Clock in and out with GPS on Basic; geofence sites from Advanced |
| Shift swaps | Yes, agreed between staff and approved by a manager | Not stated on the pages checked |
| Award interpretation | No. The business enters its own rates and multipliers | Not stated on the pages checked |
| Running payroll | No. Pay runs, payslips and superannuation stay in the payroll system | Not stated on the pages checked |
| Payroll connections | Xero, with MYOB coming soon, and a CSV export for anything else | Not stated on the pages checked |
| Prices published | Yes | Yes |
Limits and notes
- It does not interpret awards or work out what anybody is paid
- It does not run pay runs, payslips, superannuation or Single Touch Payroll reporting
- It connects to Xero only, with MYOB coming soon; other payroll systems take a CSV
- There is no app to install: staff use the browser on their phone
- It does not build rosters automatically or forecast staffing from sales
- There is no single sign-on
- Enterprise lists single sign-on and a personal success manager
Method and update log
Every statement about Connecteam comes from the pages below, read on 2 October 2026. Roster Flow’s prices come from its own plan list, the same one the pricing page reads. Nothing is taken from review sites, forums or memory, and prices change, so check the source before deciding.
- Connecteam: pricing, read 2 October 2026
- Roster Flow pricing, from the product’s plan list
Still to do on this page:
- Every price, plan and feature against Connecteam’s public pages on the day of release
- That the use of the Connecteam name is descriptive, and cleared in the trademark review
- That the “may suit” lists stay neutral and are supported by the sources
Questions
How much does Connecteam cost compared with Roster Flow?
Connecteam publishes $29 USD a month for the first 30 users on Basic, plus $0.8 per additional user, priced a monthly price for the first 30 users, plus a price per additional user. Roster Flow is $29 a month for up to 10 staff, priced by band rather than per person, so the bill does not move when a busy month adds casuals.
Does Connecteam have a free plan?
Connecteam lists free for up to 10 users on the small business plan. Roster Flow has free for up to 5 staff, permanently, with every venue and every feature but the payroll connection.
Does Connecteam work out award rates?
The pages checked do not say whether Connecteam interprets awards, so treat that as a question to ask rather than a yes. Roster Flow does not: the business enters its own rates, and pay calculation stays in payroll.
Where do the facts about Connecteam on this page come from?
From Connecteam's own public pages, read on 2 October 2026 and listed at the bottom of this page. Nothing here comes from a review site, a forum or a sales call, and where a page did not say, this one says so rather than guessing.