Roster Flow vs ClockOn
Two Australian products that start at the roster and end in different places. ClockOn runs the pay run itself; Roster Flow stops at approved hours and hands them to payroll. What each company’s public pages say, checked on the same day.
Checked 2 October 2026 against each company’s public pagesWho each may suit
Not a winner. Which kind of business each option tends to fit, from what the public pages say.
- Businesses that already have a payroll system and want the roster to feed it
- Teams under six people who want a free plan rather than a price for each person
- Businesses that want to replace their payroll system as well as their roster
- Employers who want award interpretation and Single Touch Payroll in the same product
How the price is worked out
The public pricing model, and what counts toward it.
| Roster Flow | ClockOn | |
|---|---|---|
| How the price is set | By the number of active people: bands up to 250 staff, and agreed with us above that | Per employee per month on ClockOn Pro, with payroll, rostering, attendance and HR together |
| Lowest paid price | $29 a month for up to 10 staff | From $8.80 per employee per month on ClockOn Pro |
| Free plan | Free for up to 5 staff | A Starter package of basic payroll and Single Touch Payroll, free for eligible new businesses for up to 12 months or 27 submissions |
| Free trial | 28 days on a paid plan, with no card to start | Not stated on the pages checked |
| Minimum spend or seats | No minimum; teams over 250 contact us for pricing | A minimum monthly processing charge is listed for the outsourced payroll service |
| Currency and tax | Australian dollars, GST included | Australian dollars; the pages checked do not say whether GST is included |
The same week, step by step
One ordinary week, from building the roster to handing the hours to payroll.
| Roster Flow | ClockOn | |
|---|---|---|
| Build next week | Copy last week, adjust it, and watch the estimated cost as shifts go on | Build the roster: plan shifts, labour coverage and availability |
| Tell the team | Publish, and everybody rostered is told on their phone | Not stated on the pages checked |
| Record the hours worked | Staff clock in and out on their phone; differences from the roster are flagged | Capture actual hours: employees clock in through a kiosk or mobile |
| Approve the week | Clear the flagged rows and approve the week | Review and approve, as part of the roster to payroll workflow |
| Hand the hours to payroll | Send approved hours to Xero as draft timesheets, or export a CSV | Process payroll in ClockOn, with Single Touch Payroll ready pay runs |
Features, from the public pages
“Not stated on the pages checked” means the page did not say. It does not mean the product lacks it.
| Roster Flow | ClockOn | |
|---|---|---|
| Building and publishing rosters | Yes: copy last week, see the estimated cost, publish to staff phones | Integrated rostering, listed as included on Pro and optional or limited on Standard |
| Clocking in and out | From the employee’s own phone in the browser, with an optional photo and distance check | Time and attendance, with employees clocking in through a kiosk or the mobile app |
| Shift swaps | Yes, agreed between staff and approved by a manager | Not stated on the pages checked |
| Award interpretation | No. The business enters its own rates and multipliers | Award interpretation is listed as included on both Standard and Pro |
| Running payroll | No. Pay runs, payslips and superannuation stay in the payroll system | Yes: pay runs, Single Touch Payroll lodgement, tax, super and payslips |
| Payroll connections | Xero, with MYOB coming soon, and a CSV export for anything else | ClockOn runs its own payroll, so the hours do not leave it; the pages checked do not list a connection to another payroll product |
| Prices published | Yes | Yes, from $8.80 per employee per month, with outsourced payroll from $190 a month |
Limits and notes
- It does not interpret awards or work out what anybody is paid
- It does not run pay runs, payslips, superannuation or Single Touch Payroll reporting
- It connects to Xero only, with MYOB coming soon; other payroll systems take a CSV
- There is no app to install: staff use the browser on their phone
- It does not build rosters automatically or forecast staffing from sales
- There is no single sign-on
- ClockOn Standard is the narrower option, where integrated rostering is listed as optional or limited
- An outsourced payroll service is listed from $190 a month, billed per payslip
Method and update log
Every statement about ClockOn comes from the pages below, read on 2 October 2026. Roster Flow’s prices come from its own plan list, the same one the pricing page reads. Nothing is taken from review sites, forums or memory, and prices change, so check the source before deciding.
- ClockOn: pricing, read 2 October 2026
- ClockOn: features, read 2 October 2026
- Roster Flow pricing, from the product’s plan list
Still to do on this page:
- Every price, plan and feature against ClockOn’s public pages on the day of release
- That the use of the ClockOn name is descriptive, and cleared in the trademark review
- That the “may suit” lists stay neutral and are supported by the sources
Questions
How much does ClockOn cost compared with Roster Flow?
ClockOn publishes From $8.80 per employee per month on ClockOn Pro, priced per employee per month on clockon pro, with payroll, rostering, attendance and hr together. Roster Flow is $29 a month for up to 10 staff, priced by band rather than per person, so the bill does not move when a busy month adds casuals.
Does ClockOn have a free plan?
ClockOn lists a starter package of basic payroll and single touch payroll, free for eligible new businesses for up to 12 months or 27 submissions. Roster Flow has free for up to 5 staff, permanently, with every venue and every feature but the payroll connection.
Does ClockOn work out award rates?
ClockOn: award interpretation is listed as included on both standard and pro. Roster Flow does not. The business enters its own rates and multipliers, and pay calculation stays in the payroll system either way.
Where do the facts about ClockOn on this page come from?
From ClockOn's own public pages, read on 2 October 2026 and listed at the bottom of this page. Nothing here comes from a review site, a forum or a sales call, and where a page did not say, this one says so rather than guessing.