Roster Flow vs RosterElf
Two Australian rostering products with Xero in common. What each company’s public pages say about price, minimums and features, checked on the same day.
Checked 2 October 2026 against each company’s public pagesWho each may suit
Not a winner. Which kind of business each option tends to fit, from what the public pages say.
- Teams that want a free plan and no seat minimum
- Businesses that prefer to enter their own rates rather than rely on award interpretation
- Businesses that want award interpretation included in the rostering plan
- Teams that want HR tools in the same plan, which RosterElf lists on Full Suite
How the price is worked out
The public pricing model, and what counts toward it.
| Roster Flow | RosterElf | |
|---|---|---|
| How the price is set | By the number of active people: bands up to 250 staff, and agreed with us above that | Per employee per month, by plan |
| Lowest paid price | $29 a month for up to 10 staff | $6 AUD per employee per month on Core, billed annually, or $8 monthly |
| Free plan | Free for up to 5 staff | Not stated on the pages checked |
| Free trial | 28 days on a paid plan, with no card to start | 15 days, no credit card required |
| Minimum spend or seats | No minimum; teams over 250 contact us for pricing | Minimum 10 seats on annual billing, or 3 staff on monthly |
| Currency and tax | Australian dollars, GST included | Australian dollars |
The same week, step by step
One ordinary week, from building the roster to handing the hours to payroll.
| Roster Flow | RosterElf | |
|---|---|---|
| Build next week | Copy last week, adjust it, and watch the estimated cost as shifts go on | Smart rostering with staff availability |
| Tell the team | Publish, and everybody rostered is told on their phone | Not stated on the pages checked |
| Record the hours worked | Staff clock in and out on their phone; differences from the roster are flagged | Time and attendance with GPS and photo proof |
| Approve the week | Clear the flagged rows and approve the week | Not stated on the pages checked |
| Hand the hours to payroll | Send approved hours to Xero as draft timesheets, or export a CSV | Payroll-ready exports to Xero and MYOB |
Features, from the public pages
“Not stated on the pages checked” means the page did not say. It does not mean the product lacks it.
| Roster Flow | RosterElf | |
|---|---|---|
| Building and publishing rosters | Yes: copy last week, see the estimated cost, publish to staff phones | Smart rostering and staff availability |
| Clocking in and out | From the employee’s own phone in the browser, with an optional photo and distance check | Time and attendance with GPS and photo proof |
| Shift swaps | Yes, agreed between staff and approved by a manager | Not stated on the pages checked |
| Award interpretation | No. The business enters its own rates and multipliers | Award interpretation is listed on Core |
| Running payroll | No. Pay runs, payslips and superannuation stay in the payroll system | Not stated on the pages checked |
| Payroll connections | Xero, with MYOB coming soon, and a CSV export for anything else | Payroll-ready exports to Xero and MYOB on Core; payroll sync with employee records on Full Suite |
| Prices published | Yes | Yes |
Limits and notes
- It does not interpret awards or work out what anybody is paid
- It does not run pay runs, payslips, superannuation or Single Touch Payroll reporting
- It connects to Xero only, with MYOB coming soon; other payroll systems take a CSV
- There is no app to install: staff use the browser on their phone
- It does not build rosters automatically or forecast staffing from sales
- There is no single sign-on
- An HR plan without rostering is listed at $3 AUD per employee per month, billed annually
Method and update log
Every statement about RosterElf comes from the pages below, read on 2 October 2026. Roster Flow’s prices come from its own plan list, the same one the pricing page reads. Nothing is taken from review sites, forums or memory, and prices change, so check the source before deciding.
- RosterElf: pricing, read 2 October 2026
- Roster Flow pricing, from the product’s plan list
Still to do on this page:
- Every price, plan and feature against RosterElf’s public pages on the day of release
- That the use of the RosterElf name is descriptive, and cleared in the trademark review
- That the “may suit” lists stay neutral and are supported by the sources
Questions
How much does RosterElf cost compared with Roster Flow?
RosterElf publishes $6 AUD per employee per month on Core, billed annually, or $8 monthly, priced per employee per month, by plan. Roster Flow is $29 a month for up to 10 staff, priced by band rather than per person, so the bill does not move when a busy month adds casuals.
Does RosterElf have a free plan?
RosterElf does not state a free plan on the pages checked. Roster Flow has free for up to 5 staff, permanently, which is a plan rather than a trial.
Does RosterElf work out award rates?
RosterElf: award interpretation is listed on core. Roster Flow does not. The business enters its own rates and multipliers, and pay calculation stays in the payroll system either way.
Where do the facts about RosterElf on this page come from?
From RosterElf's own public pages, read on 2 October 2026 and listed at the bottom of this page. Nothing here comes from a review site, a forum or a sales call, and where a page did not say, this one says so rather than guessing.