Roster Flow vs Employment Hero for rostering
A rostering product against rostering as an add-on to an HR and payroll platform. What each company’s public pages say about the roster-to-payroll job, checked on the same day.
Checked 2 October 2026 against each company’s public pagesWho each may suit
Not a winner. Which kind of business each option tends to fit, from what the public pages say.
- Small teams that only need rostering, clocking and timesheets
- Teams below the ten user minimum Employment Hero lists for its HR plans
- Businesses that want HR, recruitment and payroll on one platform
- Teams of ten or more who want rostering alongside HR
How the price is worked out
The public pricing model, and what counts toward it.
| Roster Flow | Employment Hero | |
|---|---|---|
| How the price is set | By the number of active people: bands up to 250 staff, and agreed with us above that | Per employee per month for HR plans, with rostering and time and attendance as an add-on |
| Lowest paid price | $29 a month for up to 10 staff | HR Essentials at $10 per employee per month, with the rostering add-on on top |
| Free plan | Free for up to 5 staff | Not stated on the pages checked |
| Free trial | 28 days on a paid plan, with no card to start | Not stated on the pages checked |
| Minimum spend or seats | No minimum; teams over 250 contact us for pricing | Minimum 10 users on HR plans; the rostering and time and attendance add-on has a $40 monthly minimum |
| Currency and tax | Australian dollars, GST included | Australian dollars |
The same week, step by step
One ordinary week, from building the roster to handing the hours to payroll.
| Roster Flow | Employment Hero | |
|---|---|---|
| Build next week | Copy last week, adjust it, and watch the estimated cost as shifts go on | With the rostering add-on |
| Tell the team | Publish, and everybody rostered is told on their phone | Not stated on the pages checked |
| Record the hours worked | Staff clock in and out on their phone; differences from the roster are flagged | With the time and attendance add-on |
| Approve the week | Clear the flagged rows and approve the week | Not stated on the pages checked |
| Hand the hours to payroll | Send approved hours to Xero as draft timesheets, or export a CSV | Payroll on the same platform with Employment Unlimited |
Features, from the public pages
“Not stated on the pages checked” means the page did not say. It does not mean the product lacks it.
| Roster Flow | Employment Hero | |
|---|---|---|
| Building and publishing rosters | Yes: copy last week, see the estimated cost, publish to staff phones | Rostering is an add-on to the HR plans |
| Clocking in and out | From the employee’s own phone in the browser, with an optional photo and distance check | Time and attendance is an add-on to the HR plans |
| Shift swaps | Yes, agreed between staff and approved by a manager | Not stated on the pages checked |
| Award interpretation | No. The business enters its own rates and multipliers | Not stated on the pages checked |
| Running payroll | No. Pay runs, payslips and superannuation stay in the payroll system | Included in Employment Unlimited, or as a managed payroll add-on |
| Payroll connections | Xero, with MYOB coming soon, and a CSV export for anything else | Not stated on the pages checked |
| Prices published | Yes | Yes for most plans; Elite and Employment Unlimited are custom |
Limits and notes
- It does not interpret awards or work out what anybody is paid
- It does not run pay runs, payslips, superannuation or Single Touch Payroll reporting
- It connects to Xero only, with MYOB coming soon; other payroll systems take a CSV
- There is no app to install: staff use the browser on their phone
- It does not build rosters automatically or forecast staffing from sales
- There is no single sign-on
- Recruitment plans and HR advisory are also listed
Method and update log
Every statement about Employment Hero comes from the pages below, read on 2 October 2026. Roster Flow’s prices come from its own plan list, the same one the pricing page reads. Nothing is taken from review sites, forums or memory, and prices change, so check the source before deciding.
- Employment Hero: pricing (Australia), read 2 October 2026
- Roster Flow pricing, from the product’s plan list
Still to do on this page:
- Every price, plan and feature against Employment Hero’s public pages on the day of release
- That the use of the Employment Hero name is descriptive, and cleared in the trademark review
- That the “may suit” lists stay neutral and are supported by the sources
Questions
How much does Employment Hero cost compared with Roster Flow?
Employment Hero publishes HR Essentials at $10 per employee per month, with the rostering add-on on top, priced per employee per month for hr plans, with rostering and time and attendance as an add-on. Roster Flow is $29 a month for up to 10 staff, priced by band rather than per person, so the bill does not move when a busy month adds casuals.
Does Employment Hero have a free plan?
Employment Hero does not state a free plan on the pages checked. Roster Flow has free for up to 5 staff, permanently, which is a plan rather than a trial.
Does Employment Hero work out award rates?
The pages checked do not say whether Employment Hero interprets awards, so treat that as a question to ask rather than a yes. Roster Flow does not: the business enters its own rates, and pay calculation stays in payroll.
Where do the facts about Employment Hero on this page come from?
From Employment Hero's own public pages, read on 2 October 2026 and listed at the bottom of this page. Nothing here comes from a review site, a forum or a sales call, and where a page did not say, this one says so rather than guessing.